Institutional Performance Evaluation

The Higher Education Commission is systematically implementing the five-year (2002 -2007) agenda for reforms outlined in the HEC Medium Term Development Framework (MTDF). The key components identified in the MTDF are Access, Quality and Relevance.

To address these challenges, a comprehensive strategy was outlined that identified the core strategic aims for reform as i) Faculty Development, ii) Improving Access, iii) Excellence in Learning and Research, and iv) Relevance to National Priorities.

In order to improve the performance of HEIs, HEC has started with primary step of outlining the Performance Evaluation Standards for the HEIs to be used for the purpose.

A total of eleven standards are defined in this document and all the eleven standards are equally important to be met by the HEIs to achieve the desired certification to quality provision in higher education, international visibility and significant place in the regional and international rankings of the HEIs.  

Various performance evaluation standards outlining major areas to be focused on by the HEIs for evaluation of their effectiveness and future development are given below:

Standard 1:            Mission Statement and Goals

Standard 2:            Planning and Evaluation

Standard 3:            Organization and Governance

Standard 4:            Integrity

Standard 5:            Faculty

Standard 6:            Students

Standard 7:            Institutional Resources      

Standard 8:            Academic Programmes and Curricula

Standard 9:            Public Disclosure and Transparency                 

Standard 10:          Assessment & Quality Assurance

Standard 11:          Student Support Service

Universities to be Reviewed under IPE during FY 2019-20

1Allama Iqbal Open University, Islamabad.
2Virtual University of Pakistan, Lahore
3University of the Punjab, Lahore
4University of Karachi
5University of Lahore, Lahore
6Bahauddin Zakariya University, Multan
7University of Sargodha, Sargodha
8Sarhad University of Science & Information Technology, Peshawar
9University of Management and Technology, Lahore.
10Federal Urdu University of Arts, Science and Technology, Karachi
11University of Engineering & Technology, Lahore.
12University of Peshawar, Peshawar
13National College of Business Administration & Economics, Lahore
14Minhaj University, Lahore.
15Institute of Southern Punjab Multan
16Govt College Women University Faisalabad
17Sindh Agriculture University, Tandojam
18Preston University, Kohat
19Isra University, Hyderabad
20University of Engineering and Technology, Taxila
21Government Sadiq College for Women University, Bahawalpur
22Karachi Institute Of Economics & Technololgy, Karachi
23University of Malakand, Chakdara
24Ghazi university, D. G. Khan
25Forman Christian College (A Chartered University)
26Fatima Jinnah Women University, Rawalpindi.
27University of South Asia, Multan
28Quaid-e - Awam Univeristy of Engineering, Science & Technology, Nawabshah
29Newports Institute Of Communication & Economics, Karachi
30Lahore Garrison University
31The University of Faisalabad 
32Ilma University, Karachi
33Karakoram International University Gilgit
34University of Swat, Swat
35Abasyn University, Peshawar
36Kohat University of Science & Technology, Kohat
37University of Kotli AJ&K
38King Edward Medical University, Lahore. 
39Kinnaird College For Women
40The Women University Multan
41Abbottabad University of Science & Technology, Abbottabad
42Sindh Institute Of Management & Technology, Karachi
43Preston University, Karachi
44GIFT University, Gujranwala
45University of Science & Technology, Bannu
46Kasb (Khadim Ali Shah Bukhari) Institute Of Technology, Karachi
47Bacha Khan University, Charsadda
48Jinnah Sindh Medical University, Karachi
49Lahore School of Economics, Lahore
50Iqra National University, Peshawar
51National Textile University, Faisalabad
52Rawalpindi Medical University, Rawalpindi
53Mohi ud Din Islamic University Nerian Sharif AJ&K
54University of Swabi, Swabi
55Shaheed Mohtarma Benazir Bhutto Medical University, Larkana
56Dawood University Of Engineering & Technology, Karachi
57Women University, Bagh
58Peoples University Of Medical & Health Sciences, Nawabshah Shaheed Benazirabad.
59Sindh Madressatul Islam University, Karachi
60Benazir Bhutto Shaheed University, Lyari Karachi
61Lasbela University of Agriculture, Water & Marine Sciences Uthal District Lasbela
62Khwaja Fareed University of Engineering and Information Technology, Rahim Yar Khan
63Muhammad Nawaz Shareef University of Agriculture, Multan
64Baqai Medical University
65Gandhara University, Peshawar