Eligibility Criteria
  1. The PI has to be a full-time regular faculty member (BPS or TTS) or on contact not less than project life of any public sector university/DAIs or private sector university/DAIs eligible for public funding ( list of 29 private sector universities/DAIs is given below). He/she should have an advance academic degree & relevant experience (PhD or M.Phil/MS) and working as academician/researcher but not as administrator .
  2. Period of execution of the Research project should not be exceeding three (03) years 
  3. Maximum funding under NRPU may be up to Rs. 20 million.  However, the permissible limit for funding is linked with a cumulative Impact Factor of the PI, as mentioned in the NRPU Application Form 2017.
  4. PI can execute or submit only two (2) research projects simultaneously under any of HEC funded research grant programs either under NRPU or UITSP or TDF or TRGP or Pak-US etc. (either ongoing, submitted, under review, etc).​
  5. Any application will not be considered if
    1. Incomplete filled 
    2. Filed on outdated Application Forms
    3. Either PI does not submit original hard copy of proposal to the respective ORIC Office/Research Office/Registrar Office or ORIC/Research offices does not submit original hard copies to R&D Division of HEC on or before the closing date, 18-10-2017.
    4. PI is executing any NRPU project whose completion is delayed by three (03) years.
    5. PI is currently executing or has submitted two or more NRPU projects simultaneously for consideration.
    6. PI has been blacklisted by HEC.
    7. Applications are directly submitted to HEC, bypassing ORIC/Research Office/Office of the Registrar of the respective university.
    8. Application forms are not signed/countersigned/endorsed by head of institution, vice chancellor/Rector/Director of DAIs.
    9. CV of PI or Co-PI are not attached.
    10. Quotations of required equipment, worth over Rs. 0.1 Million are not attached.
    11. Report generated by Turnitin is not attached.
    12. A clearance certificate from Institutional Bioethics Committee (IBC) of the university/DAI concerned (if required) is not attached.
    13. Industrial support letter (if required) is not attached.
    14. Copy of appointment letter is not attached. 
    15. Proposals has already submitted under "Thematic Research Grants Programme 2017-18" for funding.


Eligible Universities/DAIs  

All Faculty Members & Researchers holding full time position of Public Sector Universities and following selected Private Sector Universities that are eligible ​for funding:

  1. GIK Institute of Engineering & Technology, Topi
  2. Aga Khan University, Karachi
  3. Lahore University of Management Sciences, Lahore
  4. National University of Computer and Emerging Sciences (FAST), Islamabad
  5. Indus Institute of Higher Education, Karachi
  6. Institute of Business and Technology, Karachi
  7. Foundation University, Islamabad
  8. Riphah International University, Islamabad
  9. University of Management Technology, Lahore
  10. Zia ud Din University, Karachi
  11. The University of Faisalabad
  12. Institute of Business Management, Karachi
  13. Dadabhoy Institute of Higher Education, Karachi
  14. The University of Lahore
  15. Beaconhouse National University, Lahore
  16. Iqra University
  17. Shaheed Zulfikar Ali Bhutto Institute of Science & Technology (SZABIST)
  18. Forman Christian College, Lahore
  19. Sarhad University of Science & Information Technology, Peshawar
  20. Baqai Medical University, Karachi
  21. Isra University, Hyderabad
  22. Hamdard University, Karachi
  23. Jinnah University for Women, Karachi
  24. Sir Syed University of Engineering and Technology, Karachi
  25. University of Wah, Wah Cantt
  26. National College of Business Administration & Economics, Lahore
  27. Textile Institute of Pakistan, Karachi
  28. Karachi Institute of Economics & Technology, Karachi
  29. HITEC University, Taxila